AGM Minutes 2022

Held on Monday 3rd January 2022 at 7.00pm at Keysoe

1 Welcome address by Jillie Rogers BHSI – Chair.

Jillie welcomed everyone to Keysoe – including housekeeping matters at Keysoe and in the marquee, videoing of proceedings/committee by Oonagh Meyer, etc.

2 Attendance and Apologies for Absence (Committee members in bold)

Present: Jillie Rogers, Ann Bostock, Judith Murphy, Alison Craig, Amy Bannister-Bell, Danny Anholt, Oonagh Meyer, Sam York, Liza Allen, Islay Auty, Alice Bannister-Bell, Ruth Baxter, Carol Bennitt, Andrew Bennie, Brendan Bergin, Julie Biggs, Nicole Biggs, Biddy Brasted-Watts, Nicola Brook, Jess Campbell, Julian Campbell, Sam Champney-Warrener, Clare Chamberlayne, Sue Charters, Joanna Chilcott, Annette Christey, Becky Cooper, Margie Craib, Mark Cunliffe, Becky Diamond, Ann Dicker, Maggie Doel, Tim Downes, Liz Eaton, Cherry Elvin, Emily Farleigh, Debbie Follett, Kirsty Fontaine-Henley, Victoria Gallantree, Lyndsay Gammon, Ellie Halsey, Jennifer Ham, Fiona Harrison, Nikki Herbert, Sally Jackson, Jane Jarvis, David Llewellyn, Sarah MacDonald, Erik Mackechnie-Guire, Russell Mackechnie-Guire, Helen Martin, Debbie Melville, Alex Miles, Becky Monk, Caroline Moore, Lisa Morris, Sue Payne, Ann Peate, Annette Philpot, Robert Pickles, Jane Reed, Sue Ricketts, Alex Robarts, Dianne Roberts, Mark Robinson, Alex Robinson-Barr, Kylie Roddy, Tessa Ryley, Catherine Shine, Jayne Smart, Eric Smiley, Simon Somers, Lisa Spence, Dan Spencer, Nick Turner, Jenny Ward, Debbie Wilson, Rachel Wright.

Apologies: Mandy Luesley, William Blane, Beth Boyes, Frances Catell, Carole Broad, Carrie Byrom, Sue Chadwick, Donn Collins, Becky Cooper, Ruth Cusack, Sarah Dale, Joanna Day, Linda DeMatteo, Jocelyn Drummond, Sarah Fitton, Julia Gourley, Caro Haynes, Fred Hodges, Amanda Holloway, Eric Horgan, Micheline Horgan, Pammy Hutton, Pippa Hatton, Paul Ingram, Sabrina Jones, Richard Johnston-Smith, Dale Lasseter, Rob Lovatt, Tessa Martin-Bird, Kathy Merrick, Jeremy Michaels, William Micklem, Jen Morris, Sandra Morrison, Sally Newcomb, Kirsten Owen, Caroline Peatfield, Sue Pimbley, Faith Ponsonby, Heidi Reed, Liz Rennie, Sue Ringrose, Sally Robinson, Clare Sansom, David Sheerin, Sarah Simpson, Clare Stryzak, Jessica Soley, Caroline Stevenson, Wendy Suddes, Grainne Sugars, Sarah Thorne, Melissa Troup, Elspeth Watson, Hilary Westropp, Karen Whiston, Katie White, Anna Wilkes, Hetta Wilkinson, Jo Winfield, Lizzel Winter.

3 Minutes of last AGM (held 5th January 2021 on zoom)

The minutes were approved as a correct record, proposed by Sue Charters and seconded by Nick Turner.

4 Matters Arising from those Minutes

No matters arising that wouldn’t be covered below.

5 Chairman’s Review for the Year 2021

See “F&I Chairman’s Report for 2021” read by Jillie Rogers – aka “the end of the 9-year reign of terror and thank you to so many people” speech. Just brilliant.

6 Treasurer’s Report for the Year 2021

Jude Murphy reported that we have 217 members. See attached financial summary, which with incredible hard work by Jude was available just 2 days after the year end. Will be audited this coming week. Events in 2021 all broke even or were profitable. Made over £5k during the year, after over £4k of donations to charities including over £2k to BHS Hardship Fund. Hence the free places at this year’s course. See attached financial statements /report.

7 Election of Committee for 2022

As outlined in the “Committee elections and planning for the AGM” document and emails sent out to all members prior to the meeting, we received three nominations for the three places arising from the retirement of Ann Bostock and Jillie Rogers, and standing down of Mandy Luesley. Huge thanks to all three.

The places were filled by the following (all duly nominated by 1 December):

Nick Turner FBHS (proposed by Nicole Biggs and seconded by Sarah MacDonald)
Jen Morris BHSI (proposed by Patrick Print and seconded by Sandra Morrison)
Brendan Bergin BHSI (proposed by Mark Robinson and seconded by Carole Broad)
All 3 were welcomed onto the committee and congratulated by all present.

Two existing committee members were also due to be re-elected:
Amy Bannister-Bell (proposed by Sally Jackson and seconded by Alex Robarts)
Sam York (proposed by Julian Campbell and seconded by Annette Christey)

The Committee for 2022 will therefore be Chaired by Sam York FBHS (already voted into post by the committee during 2021), supported by Secretary Alison Craig BHSI, Treasurer Jude Murphy FBHS, and Committee members Danny Anholt FBHS, Amy Bannister-Bell BHSI, Brendan Bergin BHSI, Jen Morris BHSI, Nick Turner FBHS, Oonagh Meyer BHSI.

8 Remembrance

All present were invited to remember Sue Richards BHSI who died in 2021. See attached obituary prepared by Danny Anholt with help from several members who knew Sue well, and read by Danny Anholt.

9 Presentation of Awards

Sam Champney Warrener – thank you from everyone for running the closed Facebook page so well for us.

Sally Newcomb – thank you from everyone for running the website so well for us.

Two new members were presented with their BHSI certificates by our Trainers Caroline Moore and Richard Davison – Jane Reed and Russell Mackechnie-Guire. All congratulated these two new members.

Presentations of the trophies and recipients:

Tom Searle award – presented to Mark Cunliffe

Achievement Award – presented to Erik Mackechnie-Guire

Pat Smallwood Award – presented to Jillie Rogers! With help from an ODE from Tim Downes to stop her in her tracks….

Many congratulations to all!

10 Any Other Business

None – although do see the excellent F&I clothing samples available in the marquee and on the JS teamwear website

11 Dates for next year – with Sam York, 2022 chair

See list of dates (and watch your emails, facebook and the website)

12 Date of next AGM

Wednesday 4th and Thursday 5th January 2023 for the next Annual Course, provisionally booked with Keysoe, which will make the next AGM Wednesday 4th Jan 2023, 7pm