Minutes of the AGM 2014

held on Wednesday 8th January 2014 at 7pm

at  Addington Manor Equestrian Centre, Bucks

Opening welcome address by Jillie Rogers BHSI – Chairman.

There was a minute’s silence in respect and remembrance of Molly Sivewright, William Miflin and John Hall who all died during 2013.

Attendance and apologies for absence 

Those present:

Jillie Rogers (Chairman), Judith Murphy (Treasurer), Dianne Roberts (Secretary), Jeremy Michaels, Jo Winfield, Lizzel Winter, Ann Bostock, Andrew Fletcher and David Sheerin (Committee).

Danny Anholt, Islay Auty, Carol Bennitt, Nicole Biggs, Carole Broad, Annette Christey, Helen Cole, Margie Craib, Alison Craig, Micheline Croolie, Sarah Dale, Maggie Doel, Liz Eaton, Cherry Elvin, Richard Evans, Hannah Fenech, Nikki Herbert, Fred Hodges, Eric Horgan, Mandy Holloway, Mandy Luesley, Sarah MacDonald, Lisa Morris, Philippa Muir, Hayley Newman, Sue Payne, Ann Peate, Annette Philpott, Susie Pilbeam, Gemma Porter-Rawlings, Patrick Print, Sue Ricketts, Kylie Roddy, Jayne Smart, Tom Searle, Fiona Stewart, Catherine Shine, Sarah Thorne, Jenny Ward, Hilary Westropp, Jonathan Willis, Karen Whiston, Sam York and Lynne Petersen – CEO British Horse Society.

Apologies for absence were received from the following:

Lynne Baldwin, Helen Barton-Smith, Andrew Bennie, Biddy Brasted-Watts, Yogi Breisner, Sam Champney Warrener, Sue Charters, Stephen Clarke, Donn Collins, Jayne Darby, Joanna Day, Tim Downes, Elizabeth Fellows, Debbie Follett, Rosemary Gaffney, Judy Harvey, Jennifer Ham, Vicky Hayton, Sabrina Jones, Jo McIvey, Paula Keeley, Karen Lane, Rob Lovatt, Tessa Martin-Bird, Declan McArdle, Caroline Moore, Oonagh Mayer, Sandra Morrison, Sue Pimbley, Faith Ponsonby, Joanna Potterton, Sally Robinson, Clare Sansom, Suzie Seymour, Justine Sole, Jesscia Soley, Grainne Sugars, Rossie Theobald, Nick Turner, Lorna Walters, Elspeth Watson, Crea Warrener, Candice Williams and Fiona Wilson.

Minutes of last AGM (held 9th January, 2013 at Addington Manor)

Were approved a true and accurate record by Sue Payne FBHS and seconded by Alison Craig BHSI.

Matters Arising from those minutes 

There were no matters arising from the last meeting minutes.

Chairman’s Report for the Year 

Please see the attached report from Jillie Rogers, BHSI

Treasurer’s Report for the Year

See financial statement from Judith Murphy (available after the meeting on website).  Balance at the end of 2012 was £8016.23, the income received for 2013 was £16,379.00 and outgoings were £15,398.24. Therefore, the balance at the end of 2013 is £9,101.99 making a profit for 2013 of £1085.76.

Election of Committee for 2014 

It was discussed with reference to the Constitution and bye-laws that the committee will be made up of  three to four Fellows of the BHS and four to five BHSI’s who were to  be elected by members at the AGM.  The number of FBHS is correct but the number of BHSI’s exceeds that relating to the Constitution and bye-laws.

Therefore, both David Sheerin and Becci Trower step down from the committee.  Both received a bottle of wine as a “thank-you” gift, although Becci was not there personally to collect it.   Catherine Cawdron-Shine has also stepped down from the committee due to personal commitments.  Catherine was thanked by Jillie for all her efforts and hard work by a telephone conversation and will be sent a “thank-you” gift by post.

Dianne Roberts was proposed to be re-elected by Ann Bostock and seconded by Sue Payne.

Jo Winfield was proposed to be re-elected by Ann Bostock and seconded by Nikki Herbert.

All were duly voted in by those present.

(A revised committee list is attached to these minutes and available on the website).

A brief review of 2013 events

Training days held were numerous – and successful, but days still need to be supported by members as some were cancelled due to lack of support.

It was suggested by both Annette Christy and Eric Horgan that the training days should be opened up to Intermediate Instructors who are training for their BHSI.  Training Days have already been opened up – Ann Bostock confirmed that all days, except for the Annual Course are opened up to II’s. Social days are open to all interested parties.

Plans for 2014 and beyond

The National Equine Forum.

Coaching Day with Jeremy Michaels FBHS to be hosted by Mandy Holloway at Shorthampton Farm.

Badminton Course Walk with Nick Turner FBHS

The Judy Harvey FBHS – Day

A day with Emile Faurie

Tattersall’s Course Walk Ireland with Nick Turner FBHS

Burghley Course with Eric Smiley

Carl Hester Day

Emile Faurie Day

Day at Moulton College related to equine Therapy to include use of the treadmill

Blenheim Course Walk with Eric Winter

Coaching Day at Millfield School

A coaching day to be held at Wellington Riding

BBQ social evening

Ladies Day Hickstead

Royal Dublin Horse Show Ladies Day

Coolmore Stud visit.

Jeanette Brakewell XC clinic

Hunting in Ireland

In – house coaching days to be organised

See the Programme of Events 2014 for dates and organisers.  

It was suggested that for next year’s Annual Course, the trainers might be:

for dressage: Emile Faurie, Christoph Hess, Jennie Loriston-Clarke, Dr Gerd Heuchmann or Ferdi Eilberg and for show jumping: John Ledingham, Corinne Bracken, Christopher Bartle, Darrell Scaife or Ernest Dillon.

Eric Horgan suggested that if Christoph Hess was used, it should be opened up to British Dressage members.  However, Chairman, Jillie Rogers reminded members that for the Annual Course, the “dressage students” were always members of the F&I association.  The jumping places have been opened up to Intermediate Instructor’s.  The majority of members present agreed with this.

Any Other Business

The Pat Smallwood Award

The wonderful Pat Smallwood trophy which was sculpted by Jo Knowles FBHS and the box made for it by Becky Monk BHSI was awarded this year to Susie Pilbeam by BHS CEO Lynn Petersen.

It was agreed during the Committee meeting held earlier in the day that Faith Ponsonby BHSI should become the representative for Ireland for the F&I Association.  Members present agreed.

Dates of future meetings

The next Committee meeting has been proposed for Badminton Horse Trials.

Next year’s two day annual course will be held at Addington Manor Equestrian Centre, Bucks on Wednesday 7th and Thursday 8th January, 2015 with the AGM being held at 7pm, followed by the dinner.

Lynn Petersen CEO of the BHS outlined 2013 relating to the changes within the BHS and discussed plans for the future of the BHS.

It was suggested that at next year’s convention the Study Day’s would run again.

Sue Payne, Jenny Ward and Lizzel Winter received thanks and wine for leading the Study Days over the two days. Darrell was unable to collect his wine.  Stephen Clarke received thanks and wine for coaching over the two days.  Yogi Breisner received his wine during the sessions on day two.


Posted in AGM